The Ease of Social Media

Taking the Post-Grad PR at Loyalist College has equipped me with many practical tools that my previous education just didn’t give me.  The most effective tool has been social media.  Now I had a Facebook account, for five years, and I had heard of Twitter and Linked In. Yet, I didn’t really know how to use them.  Facebook had barely been touched in two years and the other sites didn’t pique my interest.

Now that I use them though, it is amazing how much can get done through them.  In real life if I try to “follow” any fellow Twitterers, they would call the police on me. Though, on Twitter they see me as a fellow PR person or a random stranger that could have interesting insights.  I can connect with other community members and even become involved in their projects.

The same can be said about Facebook and LinkedIn.  Strangers can come together, start chatting and promote causes they are passionate about.  Gap stopped their new logo change due to the social media backlash and the mayor of Calgary got elected due to his strong social media following.

Is social media the sole effective tool for every type of PR campaign or even a more general marketing campaign? I don’t believe it is.  But it is a powerful tool right now, one that seems to open up an individuals mind rather than shut it down.  I ignore ads regularly, I ignore street teams regularly but if I see something on Twitter or Facebook through my friends I am way more open to viewing it.  Although I may not purchase anything, it gets me to look at the idea.

I can’t really explain why or how these networks have gotten people to remove their social barriers but they have and its nice to see people interacting rather than ignoring one another.

2 comments so far

  1. […] experiencing social media last week at Loyalist PR I have been thinking about social media quite a […]

  2. […] the past I blogged about social media and its usefulness in our society (here, here and here) and a few events this past week have underscored its important role in our […]


Leave a Reply

